42nd Annual Conference of Association of Surgeons of India Kerala Chapter @ MES Medical College, Perinthalmanna from 26th to 28th April 2019

More than 400 Surgeons from all across Kerala participated in this Continuing Medical Education Programme.  Seventy Papers, Presentations, Lectures and Orations were made during this three day event with more than 100 well reputed Faculty. There were live transmissions of basic and advanced surgeries to benefit the delegate Surgeons. Modern trends in surgical field and the use of advanced equipments were familiarized to the practicing Surgeons and post graduates. This will highly benefit the patients in getting better treatment – opined Dr R C Sreekumar, ASI Chairman and Dr Sidhique, Organizing Committee Secretary.

Dr Mohandas Memorial oration by Prof John S Kurien

Prof (Dr) Raghavachari Memorial Oration by Prof. Ajaiyakumar

Dr Fazil Marikar (Adoor) was chosen for the Sushrutha Award – Best Surgical Teacher. Department of Surgery, Government Medical College Calicut bagged the Chairman’s  trophy for the best academic institution.

The General body conducted on 28th April unanimously elected the new office bearers. Chairman – Dr R Padmakumar (Kochi), Secretary – Dr Jimmy C John (Kannur), Treasurer – Dr P Vinod Kumar (Kannur), Joint Secretary – Dr Sidhic K A  (Perinthalmanna).

The Scenic city of Perinthalmanna  is the Hospital  hub of the Malabar region which has  always been at the forefront in catering excellent health care facilities for the people with many academic and scientific research opportunities and has already witnessed two peripheral meets organized admirably .

This year’s event exhibited a new format in all sessions with a dynamic team and able leadership.

The focus of the academic programmes was on the recent advances in the various topics in General Surgery along with the improvement of surgical skills and techniques of the young upcoming surgeons .

We also had a memorable banquet evening with various cultural events.